Paris, I’m back.

IMG_6925 (4).jpg

It’s been two weeks since I packed my four overweight suitcases and moved 3,500 miles to a different country, without speaking the language or knowing anyone in the city.

But, somehow all of this somewhat scary change feels amazing.

We often seek change at big milestones in our lives. For me, it was after graduating college this May. I knew I wanted to make a new chapter with big, bold move. And, that move was to Paris.

It wasn’t quite as simple as I put it; packing my bags and boarding a flight. Sleepless nights, too many cold emails to count, people telling what I wanted to do was virtually impossible, headaches from visa paperwork, and farewells to friends and family. And somehow, its been all worth it and then some.

Back in October, right around the time I started this blog, I had a light bulb moment. I wanted in the worst way to move back to Paris, where I had spent a semester studying in 2015. At that point it all sounded so romantic and thrilling, but there was much more to it.

Some people are ok with such radical change to take a risk without a plan. We’ve all heard the courageous story of someone moving to another country, without a job, contacts, or knowing the language, and sometimes it all works out. But, for me, I had spent much too much time focusing on my career, education and it was too big of a risk to just move without a secured job in my field. Destined and determined, I began my search and ended up lucky with an offer after about 6 months later, and visa in hand another 2 months later.

And so, this part time Parisian, is officially full time.

I look forward to continuing my blogging journey. Check out my ‘About Me’ section as to what I am doing here in Paris and follow along on Instagram @leahchernick to see what I’m up to!

More fashion and Paris fun coming in the near future! Let me know if you’d like to see anything in particular on the blog 🙂

xx bisous,

Leah

 

5 thoughts on “Paris, I’m back.

  1. Flight of Fancie says:

    Yess!! When I saw this post, I was so excited to read it. It’s been a long time since one of your last post. I love to read blogs about people experience of working in the fashion industry. You are one of the people that determines that anything is possible, and one of the few people that I look up to. I just wish I could be in your place right now, but I still have to wait 8 more years. Your blog remind me of a book that I am obsess, name My Paris Dream by Kate Betts. An American young woman starting her career and life in Paris! Just by reading this blog it make me think that all the articles that I ever read on the internet talking about the fashion industry is hard and a few can make it are just a lie. With a lot of hard work and determination, It will all work out.

    Good luck for your new beggining in Paris!

    Liked by 2 people

    • partimeparisian says:

      Aww thank you that is so sweet and means so much to me! Yes, My Paris Dream by Kate Betts is one of my favorites. I connected to that book so much and felt as though her situation as to why she moved to Paris and her life before Paris was so so similar to mine. Ironically, she was editor in chief at Bazaar for quite some time, which is where I interned previously. If I can be of any help or answer any questions about Paris, the industry or other wise feel free to email me!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

